• Margaret Bernadette Ryan, M.D., Honored with 2019 Walter A. Franck Physician Excellence Award

    Bassett Healthcare Network, Bassett Medical Center

    November 19, 2019

    Attending surgeon Bernadette Ryan, M.D., is the 2019 recipient of Bassett Healthcare Network's most prestigious recognition for a physician, the Walter A. Franck Physician Excellence Award. The award was established to honor rheumatologist Walter A. Franck, M.D., who retired in 2014 after more than four decades of distinguished service. The award recognizes a physician who exemplifies excellence in the areas of clinical care, scholarship and citizenship – characteristics embodied in Dr. Franck. Previous winners of this award have been Shep Friedman, M.D., Kai Mebust, M.D., Chris Kjolhede, M.D., and Raul Monzon, M.D.

    Physicians are nominated by their peers and the award recipient is determined by a vote of Bassett physicians.

    Ryan completed a Fellowship in surgical oncology and thoracic surgery residency at the MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. Prior to that, she served an internship and residency at Bassett Hospital as well as a residency at Presbyterian Hospital. She began working at Bassett as an attending surgeon in 1992.

    In addition to responsibilities as a general surgeon, Dr. Ryan has expertise in thoracic surgery, breast surgery and reconstructive breast surgery, surgical oncology and endocrine surgery diseases. Ryan is a faculty member for surgical residents and offers a surgical oncology mentorship as an elective for medical students training at Bassett. She is a past winner of the Golden Apple Award given to the most outstanding teacher by surgical residents.